VandeWalle reelected Chief Justice of ND Supreme Court

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Law


Gerald W. VandeWalle has been unanimously reelected Chief Justice of the North Dakota Supreme Court. The five-year term begins January 1. VandeWalle was reelected by a vote of the Supreme Court justices and district judges on Nov. 24.

VandeWalle has been a member of the Supreme Court since 1978, and has been Chief Justice since January 1, 1993.

The Noonan, N.D., native served in the North Dakota Attorney General's office until he was appointed to the Supreme Court in 1978 by Gov. Arthur A. Link. He was elected later that year, and reelected in 1984, 1994, and 2004. He was elected Chief Justice on the retirement of Ralph J. Erickstad. VandeWalle was reelected Chief Justice five, ten, and fifteen years ago.

He served as president of the Conference of Chief Justices, 2000-2001. The Conference of Chief Justices is the national voice of the State courts.

Chief Justice VandeWalle has chaired the National Center for State Courts as well as the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar of the American Bar Association, responsible for accrediting the nation's law schools.