Doris Wang Elected to the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics Board of Directors


David Braz

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

College of Nursing & Professional Disciplines


Doris Wang, MPH, RD, LRD, East Grand Forks, Minnesota, has been elected to the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics Board of Directors (ACEND BOD) for 2013-2016. The board is the governing unit of a federally-recognized accrediting agencyfor education programs preparing students for careers as registered dietitians (RD) or dietetic technicians, registered (DTR). ACEND serves and protects students and the public by assuring the quality and continued improvement of nutrition and dietetics education programs.

Doris will serve as Coordinated Program in Dietetics (CP) Representative-elect as of June 1, 2013 through May 31, 2014. After this time, she will then serve two additional years as CP Representative. She has been appointed to serve on the Policies and Procedures committee for the duration of her appointment with the board. Doris is program director for the Coordinated Program in Dietetics and Clinical Track Assistant Professor at the University of North Dakota and has been with the Department of Nutrition and Dietetics for 13 years.

She previously worked as an adjunct professor at the University of Minnesota, Crookston, a consultant dietitian, a health facilities evaluator, clinical dietitian, and food service manager in Northeastern North Dakota and Northwestern Minnesota. Dorishas extensive experience in leadership roles within UND, the region, and nationally. She was recently awarded the Faculty Service Learning Award through UND's Center for Community Engagement and published an article in the Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior reporting lessons learned from a service learning program that she developed at UND.

Doris is a graduate of North Dakota State University. She completed a dietetic internship at St. Louis University and earned a Master's degree from the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.