UND’s Iseminger receives regional history award


David L. Dodds

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

College of Arts & Sciences


University of North Dakota Chester Fritz Distinguished Professor of History Gordon L. Iseminger recently became the second professor in two years from his university department to receive an award that recognizes dedication to historical research in the region.

Iseminger accepted The Larry Rowen Remele Award from the 2014 winner, his college in the UND Department of History, Professor Kimberly Porter. The award ceremony took place last fall at the 50th annual Northern Great Plains History Conference in Bismarck.

This award is given in memory of Larry Rowen Remele, a longtime editor of North Dakota History: Journal of the Northern Plains. Remele was serving as Council Chair at the time of his death. Remele is remembered for making significant contributions to the conference.

The award is granted annually to a person who performs outstanding work for the Northern Great Plains History Conference. This conference features the research of historians who live and work in the Northern Great Plains, as well as that of other historians, on a variety of topics in local, regional, U.S., Canadian and world history. Scholars working in history-related fields are also encouraged to present classroom sessions for teachers. This year, more than 100 scholars presented new research on various topics such as American Indian day school house keepers, suffrage cartoons and the garden seed capital of the world.

The conference was hosted by the State Historical Society of North Dakota and Bismarck State College. Both had previously hosted the conference in 1977, 1984, 1997, and 2004.

About Iseminger

Iseminger, who has been a teacher and researcher at UND for the past 52 years — approximately 106 semesters — also has been awarded the Joseph S. Height Literary award for his essay on military service among the Germans from Russia in North Dakota. His official UND title as a Chester Fritz Distinguished Professors is the highest award given to faculty members at the school.

This year’s conference will be held Sept. 14-17 in St. Cloud, Minn.