Frank Low Research Day award winners named

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


We want to thank all of you who participated in making the 35th Annual Frank Low Research Day a success. We appreciate the high level of participation by students, faculty, and staff at the School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Special thanks to UND Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine and Health Sciences Joshua Wynne, MD, MBA, MPH, for ongoing support of this important annual event and for providing opening remarks at the oral session.

We were pleased to have Bethany B. Moore, PhD, professor, Departments of Internal Medicine, and Microbiology and Immunology; director, Graduate Program in Immunology; and director, Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research Postdoctoral, Translational Scholars Program, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, present her keynote address titled "Regulation of Innate Immunity Post-Stem Cell Transplant."

Ninety-seven posters were presented. Invited talks were given by Bibhuti Mishra, PhD, assistant professor, Basic Sciences, UND SMHS; and David K. Ann, PhD, professor and associate chair, Molecular Pharmacology, Beckman Research Institute of City of Hope, Duarte, Calif.

Special thanks go to Associate Professor David Bradley, PhD, Microbiology and Immunology Program in the Department of Basic Sciences; Associate Professor Scott Garrett, PhD, Department of Pathology; Elizabeth Sandquist, PhD candidate in the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Program in the Department of Basic Sciences; and Frank Low Research Day Coordinator JoAnn Johnson whose efforts ensured the success of the event.

The winners of the best student poster awards by category were the following:

Basic Sciences Graduate Students

1st Place—Nicholas Cilz 2nd Place—Danielle Krout 3rd Place—Travis Alvine

Honorable Mention

  • Danielle Rastedt
  • Joshua Kulas
  • Bruce Felts

Health Sciences Graduate Students

1st Place— Katelyn Mari 2nd Place— Erica Myers 3rd Place—Bailey Stotts

Research Experience for Medical Students

1st Place— Aaron Frenette 2nd Place— Marcus Geffre 3rd Place (tie)—Siddhant Dash and Scott Poswilko

Undergraduate Students

1st Place— Jacob Greenmyer 2nd Place—Isaac Jensen