Jim Rudd inducted into Hall of Fame of Mid-America Athletic Trainers’ Association

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


The Mid-America Athletic Trainers’ Association held their 22nd Annual Honor and Awards Banquet Friday, March 20, in Omaha, Nebraska. The evening event was held in conjunction with the Association’s 36th Annual Meeting and Clinical Symposium.

This year’s Hall of Fame Inductees included Jim Rudd, elected posthumously. Rudd received his Bachelor of Science in Physical Education from St. Lawrence University in 1973 and became a certified athletic trainer the following year. He later earned his Master of Science in Biology from the University of North Dakota. Rudd’s athletic training career began in 1973 as an assistant athletic trainer with the Philadelphia Eagles Football Club, before accepting the graduate assistant athletic trainer position at the University of North Dakota in 1974. After two years in Grand Forks, Rudd served as the head athletic trainer at Mercer County Community College for one year, moving on to Kansas State University in 1984. He served as the curriculum director at West Virginia University for one year, then moved to Valdosta State College, where he worked until the spring of 1989. His final stop brought him back to the University of North Dakota, where he first served as the head athletic trainer, then as assistant professor and director of the Division of Sports Medicine.

Rudd was a recipient of the National Athletic Trainers’ Association Service Award and has served as a member of the NATA Program Director’s Council, and chair of the NATA Memorial Resolution Committee.

At the state level, Rudd was elected as the inaugural president of both the Kansas Athletic Trainers Society, where he initiated the Licensure Committee in the state, and the Athletic Trainers’ Society of New Jersey, where he was an original member of the New Jersey Licensure Committee. In addition, Rudd is a member of the North Dakota Athletic Trainers’ Association Hall of Fame, as well as the 2008 recipient of the Legacy Award given by the North Central Conference.