APA awards Presidential Citation to Jacque Gray

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


GRAND FORKS, N.D.—American Psychological Association President Nadine Kaslow, PhD, ABPP, awarded the APA's Presidential Citation to Jacque Gray, PhD, research associate professor and associate director of indigenous programs at the UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences' Center for Rural Health and the SMHS Department of Pathology. Kaslow presented the citation to Gray at the National Latino/a Psychological Association Biennial Conference on Saturday, October 25. The APA recognized Gray for her "groundbreaking scholarship with Native and rural communities, leadership of landmark programs and national organizations, mentoring of Native students and colleagues, and courageous advocacy efforts."

Gray is from Oklahoma and is of Choctaw and Cherokee descent. At the SMHS, she directs the Seven Generations Center of Excellence in Native Behavioral Health and the National Indigenous Elder Justice Initiative. She works with the National Resource Center on Native American Aging, National Institute of Mental Health Outreach Partnership, ND IDeA (Institutional Development Award) Network of Biomedical Research Excellence, Death Investigator Training Grant, and the UND American Indian Health Research Conference. Gray also directs the Native Health Research Team and mentors over 25 Native students on research in Indian Country.

The APA noted in the citation that "She has worked tirelessly with tribes throughout Indian Country. Her research has advanced our understanding of suicide prevention, rural veteran health services, spirituality and health, psychometrics, and wellness and nutrition. Dr. Gray has an impressive leadership career as past-president of the Society of Indian Psychologists, consultant for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's Disaster Technical Assistance Center, and member of APA's Committee on Rural Health and the National Steering Committee on Health Disparities. Recipient of the Native Research Network's Excellence in Training Award, she worked on Maori and indigenous suicide prevention in New Zealand."