Justice Maring honored by 8th Circuit Bar

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Law


Retired North Dakota Supreme Court Justice Mary M. Maring was named a winner of the Richard S. Arnold Award for Distinguished Service on Aug. 7 by the Eighth Circuit Bar Association.

The award is named in honor of Judge Arnold, a former Chief Judge of the Eighth Circuit, who led a distinguished career that included graduating first in his class at Yale University and Harvard Law School. Judge Arnold served as a law clerk to Supreme Court Justice William Brennan before entering private practice and then serving as a judge for the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals for more than twenty years.

Justice Maring retired from the Court on Dec. 31, 2013, after more than 17 years of service on the bench. A 1975 graduate of the University of North Dakota School of Law, she spent 20 years in private legal practice in North Dakota and Minnesota before being appointed to the Court by Governor Edward Schafer to fill the vacancy created by Justice Beryl Levine's retirement. Justice Maring now serves as a surrogate judge.

The Arnold award winners are chosen by the district judges in each of the Eighth Circuit's districts based on the following criteria for which Chief Judge Arnold was known: 1) the person has achieved professional excellence in his or her field; 2) the person has been a leader in his or her legal community as reflected in the leadership positions the nominee has held in bar associations and other professional organizations; 3) the person has contributed significant work toward the delivery of volunteer legal services to underserved members of the community; 4) the person has been honored by his or her peers; and 5) the person has served as a mentor or role model for less-experienced lawyers or students interested in law.

The other recipients of this year's award were: Timothy Dudley for the Eastern District of Arkansas, John Elrod for the Western District of Arkansas, C.J. Williams for the Northern District of Iowa, Richard Lyford for the Southern District of Iowa, James Simonson for the District of Minnesota, Maurice B. Graham for the Eastern District of Missouri, Gregg Lombardi for the Western District of Missouri, Linda Crump for the District of Nebraska and Mark Meierhenry for the District of South Dakota.