2014 Sophomore Award Winners

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


GRAND FORKS, N.D.—The 2014 Sophomore Awards lunch and presentation of awards took place on Thursday, May 15, in the UND Memorial Union Ballroom.

North Dakota Medical Association Awards Awarded to second-year students nominated by their peers, the Class of 2016, and recognized for outstanding performance in the following three curricular areas:

  • Group Leadership and ProfessionalismBraden A. Burckhard, Burlington, N.Dak. Engages in ethical conduct, facilitates group interaction and productivity, motivates others to learn, exhibits personal integrity, and interacts with others appropriately with respect and courtesy.
  • Peer TeachingRachel M. Fearing, Williston, N.Dak. Outstanding contributions to the group's database and facilitating group learning, skillful and accurate presentations, and willingness to assist fellow classmates to learn concepts they do not understand.
  • Integration of Basic Science and Clinical ApplicationMichael D. Traynor, Jr., Fargo, N.Dak. Ability to analyze problems, generate hypotheses, set priorities, test hypotheses and formulate alternative hypotheses, draw appropriate conclusions, and apply the knowledge to patient cases.

Academic Awards The following awards are presented to second-year medical students in recognition of their overall academic achievements:

  • The DeBoer Memorial AwardShaynna M. Mann, Dickinson, N.Dak. Given in memory of Mrs. Benjamin DeBoer and presented by the Department of Pharmacology, Physiology, and Therapeutics.
  • Dr. Philip H. Woutat Memorial Scholarship AwardNatalie M. Brehmer, Fargo, N.Dak. Presented by the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology on behalf of Mrs. Philip H. Woutat in memory of her husband for his longtime service as a radiology instructor.
  • Dr. William Eugene Cornatzer AwardAnna L. Cymbaluk, Crookston, Minn. Presented by the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in recognition of Dr. William Eugene Cornatzer, the founder of the department, the first chair and a pioneering and innovative leader in medical education and biomedical research.
  • Dr. James Kelleher AwardScott T. Allen, North Mankato, Minn. Presented by the Department of Microbiology and Immunology in honor of Dr. Kelleher's outstanding service to the School of Medicine and Health Sciences and his dedication and contributions to the teaching of medical students.

Service Award

  • Kevin Monk AwardAnnie L. Braseth, Kalispell, Mont. Given to a second-year medical student for outstanding service to the School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Outstanding Teacher Awards

  • Portrait AwardKurt E. Borg, PhD, Assistant Professor, Family and Community Medicine. For outstanding support of students during their first two years of medical education.
  • Golden Apple Award For excellence in teaching, presented to the instructor whose instruction has had the greatest impact on the class.

Presented by sophomore students to Richard D. Clarens, PharmD, Associate Professor, Family and Community Medicine.

Presented by freshman students to Jane R. Dunlevy, PhD, Associate Professor, Basic Sciences.