Professor McGinniss Re-Appointed to Joint Committee on Attorney Standards


School of Law

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Law


At the invitation of Chief Justice VandeWalle of the North Dakota Supreme Court, Associate Professor of Law Michael S. McGinniss has accepted an appointment to serve a second three-year term on the Joint Committee on Attorney Standards. The Joint Committee is established by Supreme Court Administrative Rule 38, and consists of members appointed by the Supreme Court and the SBAND Board of Governors. The Joint Committee provides an indispensable mechanism for the Court and SBAND to engage in continual review of the North Dakota Rules of Professional Conduct, rules governing the lawyer discipline system, and other matters concerning attorney standards and supervision.

Before joining the law school faculty in 2010, Professor McGinniss served for twelve years as Disciplinary Counsel for the Delaware Supreme Court. He currently teaches Professional Responsibility, Evidence, Conflict of Laws, and Advanced Legal Ethics. He also serves as the co-coordinator for the UND School of Law’s team-taught first-year course, Professional Foundations, and as the faculty advisor for the North Dakota Law Review.

In addition to serving on the Joint Committee since January 2012, Professor McGinniss has regularly shared his expertise in lawyer discipline by providing training for members of the North Dakota Disciplinary Board, and has served as the coordinator for the Mart Vogel Lecture on Professionalism and Legal Ethics. For each of the past four years, Professor McGinniss has received the J. Philip Johnson Faculty Fellow Award, given to promote professional responsibility, leadership and ethics, both in the legal profession and in the community. In the fall of 2011, he was selected from a nationwide pool of legal ethics teachers and scholars as one of ten Fellows of the National Institute for Teaching Ethics and Professionalism. In 2013, he received a UND Foundation North Dakota Spirit Faculty Achievement Award, and he has been nominated for the UND Outstanding Faculty Scholar Award (2013) and the Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award (2014).