Physician Assistant Studies announces research awards and scholarships

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


GRAND FORKS, N.D.—The University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences Department of Physician Assistant Studies has recognized the research of members of the Class of 2017 and awarded scholarships to students from the Class of 2018.

Research awards were presented to the following graduates of the Class of 2017 on May 12 at the Hooding Ceremony at the UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences in Grand Forks

Outstanding Scholarly Project, Faculty Choice: Togan Cottrell of Thompsonville, Illinois, for her project titled “Evaluating Internet Based Cognitive Behavioral Therapy in Adults with Depression.” Her preceptors are Federica Nanni, MD, and Jessica DeMarco, PA-C, Sessler, Illinois.

Outstanding Scholarly Project, Student Choice: Rebekah Dunn of Lupton, Michigan, for her project titled “Prescription Opioids: A Band-Aid for Chronic Low Back Pain.” Her preceptor is Michael Beasley, MD, West Branch, Michigan.

The following scholarships were awarded on May 4 at the North Dakota Academy of Physician Assistants Primary Care Seminar in Fargo

Class of 2018 Kathy Ohly Memorial Scholarship through the North Dakota Academy of Physician Assistants ($500)

Kayla Ternes of Mandan, North Dakota. Her preceptor is Kayla Olson, PA-C, Beulah, North Dakota.

Christina Brooks of Grand Forks, North Dakota. Her preceptors are Tam Czarnik, MD, and Darlene Kelly, ARNP, McVille, North Dakota.

The Kathy Ohly Memorial Scholarship was established in 1994 in loving memory of Kathy Ohly, a very active member of the NDAPA. She graduated from the University of North Dakota Nurse Practitioner/Physician Assistant Program in 1976. Ohly was the president of the NDAPA from 1982 to 1984 and chaired the Public Education Committee from 1987 to 1991 and the Bylaws Committee. She served on the Continuing Medical Education Committee from 1985 to 1987. Ohly served as one of the North Dakota representatives to the American Association of Physician Assistants House of Delegates during many national conventions. She organized and traveled with an orthopedic surgical team to Brazil to provide care for Brazilian children suffering from various orthopedic conditions. Her work in Brazil earned her the AAPA Humanitarian Award in 1987. She passed away on August 15, 1993, after a long and courageous battle with breast cancer.

Class of 2018 Mickey Knutson Scholarship ($800)

Larissa Haug of Grand Forks, North Dakota. Her preceptor is Laura Ermer, PA-C, Cavalier, North Dakota.

The Knutson endowment provides scholarships to UND students, allowing them the opportunity to complete their studies and pursue careers in the health field. The Knutson Scholarship is awarded to a graduate who will be working in primary care in a rural or underserved area.

Class of 2018 Katherine Maryann Rasmussen Scholarship ($2,750)

Emily Stevenson of Bismarck, North Dakota. Her preceptor is Michelle Tincher, MD, Bismarck, North Dakota.

Cody Baxter of Fargo, North Dakota. His preceptor is Brittany Michels, PA-C, Fargo, North Dakota.

Kayla Ashton of Robbinsdale, Minnesota. Her preceptor is Patricia Herbert, MD, Andover, Minnesota.

The Rasmussen endowment provides scholarships to one or more high-achieving and qualified students enrolled within the Physician Assistant Program at the UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Recipients shall be of high moral character and demonstrate the potential to lead successful lives and careers.


Denis F. MacLeod

Assistant Director, Office of Alumni and Community Relations

University of North Dakota

School of Medicine and Health Sciences

1301 N Columbia Road, Stop 9037 | Room W103 | Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037

701.777.2733 direct | 218.779.3107 cell