UND Law Alumni Selected by Voters to the Bench

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Law


The results of the November 8 election are in and the state will have a new Supreme Court justice and three new district court judges effective January 1, 2017.

In the statewide contest for the Supreme Court seat being vacated by the retirement of Justice Dale Sandstrom, Southeast Judicial District Judge Jerod Tufte defeated Bismarck attorney Robert Bolinske.

In the North Central Judicial District, incumbent Judge Stacy Louser defeated Minot attorney Robert Martin.

In the Northeast Judicial District, Ramsey County State's Attorney Lonnie Olson defeated Benson County State's Attorney James Wang for the open seat created by the retirement of Judge Lee Christofferson.

Two elections were contested in the Southeast Judicial district. Incumbent Judge Daniel Narum defeated LaMoure attorney Kimberly Radermacher. Meanwhile, Fargo attorney Mark Blumer defeated Sargent County State's Attorney Lyle Bopp in the contest for the judgeship vacated by Judge Tufte's resignation.

Stutsman County Chief Assistant State's Attorney Troy Lefevre ran unopposed in the election to replace SEJD Judge Thomas Merrick, who is retiring.

For more on these candidates, please see the original story.