SMHS inducts Gold Humanism Honor Society members

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


GRAND FORKS, N.D.—Ten medical students from the Doctor of Medicine Class of 2017 at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences were inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society on June 20 at the induction ceremony in Grand Forks.

Michael LeBeau, MD, clinical assistant professor of internal medicine at the UND SMHS, and a nephrologist for Sanford Health in Bismarck, N.Dak., was inducted into the society as the faculty recipient of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award. Dr. LeBeau was the keynote speaker as well.

Limited to fifteen percent of the senior class, the Class of 2017 inductees were selected through a process that included peer nomination and subsequent confirmation by the School’s Gold Humanism Honor Society Oversight Committee.

Honorees from the Class of 2017, and their hometowns, are the following individuals:

  • Rebecca Asp, Hankinson, N.Dak.
  • Amy Borys, Cando, N.Dak.
  • Marcus Geffre, Mayville, N.Dak.
  • Wesley Halseth, Minot, N.Dak.
  • Heather Liebe, Cary, N.C.
  • Brandon Potter, Denver, Colo.
  • Kara Prussing, Bismarck, N.Dak.
  • Kyle Rudningen, Clearwater, Minn.
  • Hasanga Samaraweera, Fargo, N.Dak.
  • Mark Schlotterback, Billings, Mont.

Committed to fostering a culture of professionalism and humanism, the School's Gold Humanism Honor Society chapter provides a formal mechanism to highlight and recognize, as a group, those students who exhibit high levels of humanistic qualities in their day-to-day lives. These qualities include integrity; sound moral reasoning; compassion and empathy toward patients; effective communication skills; the ability to engender trust and confidence among patients, staff, and colleagues; and a deep commitment to humanitarian services.

The GHHS is funded by a grant from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.