CoBPA student Jed Hanson wins prestigious Truman scholarship

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

College of Business & Public Administration


University of North Dakota junior Jed Hanson is the 2016 North Dakota winner of the Truman Scholarship.

One of the most prestigious national scholarship programs in the country, recipients of the Truman Scholarship receive a $30,000 scholarship toward graduate school and the opportunity to participate in professional development programming to help prepare them for careers in public service leadership.

Hanson, an Argusville, N.D., native and graduate of Northern Cass High School, is studying political science and public administration at UND. In addition to his studies, he works for Gate City Bank, judges speech meets, and volunteers for many electoral causes. He is the executive director and former communications director for the College Democrats of North Dakota and a former field organizer for the North Dakota Democratic-NPL Party.

“Jed is a change agent on our campus and in our community and in this state,” said Mark Jendrysik, a professor in the UND Political Science and Public Administration Department, part of the College of Business and Public Administration. “He has worked hard to serve and lead in every situation, balancing academics and service and excelling in each – keep an eye on this young man.”

Despite growing up on a farmstead, Hanson has a strong passion for urban affairs and transportation policy. He plans to pursue a master’s degree in city or urban planning and dedicate his career to expansion of rapid transit systems and transit-oriented development. “The Truman Scholarship will provide me with additional pathways for my career in public service,” Hanson said. “I am thankful to the Truman Foundation for selecting me and providing support and opportunities in my education and future."

About the scholarship:

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation was created by Congress in 1975 to be the nation’s living memorial to President Harry S. Truman. The Foundation has a mission to select and support the next generation of public service leaders.

Annually, candidates for the Truman Scholarship go through a rigorous, multi-stage selection process. In 2016, there were 775 candidates for the award nominated by 305 colleges and universities, a record number of applications and institutions. The 200 finalists for the award were interviewed in March and early April at one of sixteen regional selection panels. Fifty-four new Truman Scholars were selected in 2016. They will receive their awards in a ceremony at the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum on Sunday, May 29, 2016.