UND production of ‘Little Women’ opens Nov. 12 at Burtness Theatre

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

College of Arts & Sciences


The University of the North Dakota’s Department of Theatre Arts presents the musical “Little Women,” Nov. 12-14 and Nov. 19-21 at 7:30 p.m. in the Burtness Theatre.

Based on the classic novel by Louisa May Alcott, this musical adaptation of “Little Women” brings to life the March sisters and their struggles as young women growing up during the American Civil War. Premiering on Broadway in 2005, the semi-autobiographical tale of Alcott’s life follows Jo March as she works to become a writer and the struggles she and her sisters — Meg, Amy and Beth — face along the way. The approximately two hour long show was written by Allan Knee and features music by Jason Howland and Mindi Dickstein, breathing fresh life into a classic story.

Tickets are available at the Box Office: 701.777.2587. Adult tickets are $20 and student tickets are $10.

Production Information:

  • Directed by Emily Cherry
  • Choreography by Blair Bybee
  • Musical Direction by Suna Gunther
  • Scenic and Lighting Design by Brad Reissig
  • Costume Design by Jessica Ray
  • Sound Design and Technical Direction by Loren J. Liepold
  • Stage Management by Kathryn Vocke
  • Assistant Stage Management by Brooke Anderson
  • Scenic Artist: Taran Estad
  • Assistant Director / House Manager: Susan Hiltner
  • Assistant Music Director: Caleb Van Ornum
  • Paint Charge/ Assistant Stage Manager: Sarah Ringdahl
  • Hair/ Makeup Design: Michelle Stahlecker
  • Accompanist: Keith Teepen


  • Jacqueline DeGraff (Jo March)
  • Daniel Johnson (Professor Bhaer)
  • Michelle Stahlecker (Amy March/Hag)
  • Daniella Lima (Meg March)
  • Ashley Restemayer (Beth March)
  • Hannah Diers (Marmee March)
  • Joe Picardi (Laurie Laurence)
  • Emily Taylor (Aunt March/Rodrigo 2)
  • Brandon Wetch (John Brooke)
  • Tyler Folkedahl (Mr. Laurence/Knight)
  • Maureen Bry (Mrs. Kirk)
  • Bethany Springs (Clarissa)
  • Caleb Van Ornum (Braxton)
  • Jeremy Lindemann (Troll)

Running Crew:

  • Wardrobe Supervisor: Debra Griebel
  • Dressers: Nick Ostgaard, Whitney Smith-Ramirez, Kayleigh Veerkamp
  • Light Board Operator: Christian Busse
  • Sound Operators: Wesley Curtis and Tyler Smith
  • Stage Hand: Mjeed Alshehri, Kelsey Odegard, Austin Redding, and Bailey Strahota


  • Percussion: Alex Huther
  • Violin: Vinicius Sant’Ana
  • Cello: Sadie Sorenson
  • Oboe: Lauren Sullivan
  • Trumpet: Christiena Taralson
  • Piano: Keith Teepen