SMHS welcomes new associate deans and chairs

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


GRAND FORKS, N.D.— University of North Dakota Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine and Health Sciences Joshua Wynne invites you to join him in welcoming the school’s new associate deans and founding chairs. The event will be held on Wednesday, Sept. 30, from 2 to 4 p.m., with a brief program at 2 p.m., in the Vennes Atrium at the School, 501 North Columbia Road, Grand Forks. Refreshments will be served. Everyone is welcome to attend.

Dean Wynne will formally welcome the following internationally recognized, distinguished faculty to the School:

  • Marc D. Basson, MD, PhD, MBA, FACS, Associate Dean for Medicine.
  • Richard Van Eck, PhD, Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning and Founding Dr. David and Lola Rognlie Monson Endowed Professor in Medical Education.
  • Donald Jurivich, DO, Founding Eva L. Gilbertson, M.D., Distinguished Chair of Geriatrics.
  • Gary G. Schwartz, PhD, MPH, PhD, Founding Chair of the Department of Population Health.

Basson is an educator, scientist, and surgeon who is known for his research on the extracellular physical forces that affect intracellular signaling in cancer biology and the healing of the gastrointestinal tract of critically ill or injured patients. Basson previously served as professor and chair of the Department of Surgery, director of the Program for Surgical and Biomedical Research, and assistant dean for faculty development in research in the College of Human Medicine at Michigan State University in Lansing. For more information about Marc D. Basson, please visit

Van Eck is an educator and scientist noted for his research in instructional simulation and game theory. Before joining the SMHS, Van Eck was a professor in the Department of Teaching and Learning in UND’s College of Education and Human Development, where he taught courses on human performance technology, eLearning, instructional design, and instructional simulations from 2004 to 2015. For more information about Richard Van Eck, please visit

Jurivich is a respected clinician who has conducted extensive research on aging and age-related diseases and their treatment. Since 1997, Jurivich was the Vitoux Endowed Chair and Associate Professor of Geriatric Medicine as well as chief of the Division of Geriatric Medicine at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago. He also was chief of Geriatric Medicine at the Jesse Brown Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Chicago. Jurivich is a 2015–2016 U.S. Best Doctors awardee, a designation given to less than 5 percent of physicians across the country from whom other doctors would seek care. For more information about Donald Jurivich, please visit

Schwartz is a scientist and educator whose research focuses on prostate cancer and on vitamin D. Since 1999, Schwartz was scientific director of the Prostate Cancer Center of Excellence at Wake Forest University School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, N.C., a National Cancer Institute–designated Comprehensive Cancer Center. At Wake Forest, Schwartz was an associate professor in the Departments of Cancer Biology, of Urology, and of Epidemiology and Prevention. For more information about Gary G. Schwartz, please visit