Department of Physician Assistant Studies announces scholarships

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


GRAND FORKS, N.D.—The Department of Physician Assistant Studies at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences has awarded scholarships to students from the Classes of 2016 and 2017.

Class of 2016 Kathy Ohly Memorial Scholarship through the North Dakota Academy of Physician Assistants (NDAPA; $500):

  • Brittany Anundson , Bismarck, N.D. Her preceptor is Karlee Kristensen, PA-C, Bismarck, N.D.
  • Caitlyn Cameron , West Fargo, N.D. Her preceptor is Tabitha Hass, PA-C, Hawley, Minn.

The Kathy Ohly Memorial Scholarship was established in 1994 in loving memory of Kathy Ohly, a very active member of the NDAPA. She graduated from the University of North Dakota Nurse Practitioner/Physician Assistant Program in 1976. Ohly was the president of the NDAPA from 1982 to 1984 and chaired the Public Education Committee from 1987 to 1991 and the Bylaws Committee. She served on the Continuing Medical Education Committee from 1985 to 1987. Ohly served as one of the North Dakota representatives to the American Association of Physician Assistants (AAPA) House of Delegates during many national conventions. She organized and traveled with an orthopedic surgical team to Brazil to provide care for Brazilian children suffering from various orthopedic conditions. Her work in Brazil earned her the AAPA Humanitarian Award in 1987. She passed away on August 15, 1993, after a long and courageous battle with breast cancer.

Class of 2016 Mickey Knutson Scholarship ($750):

  • Allison Barnett , Douglas, Wyo. Her preceptor is Deeanne Engle, M.D., Douglas, Wyo.

The Knutson endowment provides scholarships to UND students, allowing them the opportunity to complete their studies and pursue careers in the health field. The Knutson endowment is awarded to a graduate who will be working in primary care in a rural or underserved area.

Class of 2017 Katherine MaryAnn Rasmussen Scholarship ($1,000 for fall tuition):

  • Jessica Anderson , Bluffton, Minn. Her preceptor is Randy Kenniger, M.D., Fargo, N.D.
  • Kathryn Deitz , Columbia, Mo. Her preceptor is Heather Gessling, M.D., Moberly, Mo.
  • Emil Trutwin , Rice, Minn. His preceptor is Margaret Erickson, PA-C, Saint Cloud, Minn.

The Rasmussen endowment provides scholarships to one or more high-achieving and qualified students enrolled within the physician assistant program at the UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Recipients shall be of high moral character and demonstrate the potential to lead successful lives and careers.

Since its inception in 1970, the PA program at the UND SMHS has had continuous accreditation by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant. Over the course of the program, students rotate between the classroom on the UND campus in Grand Forks and clinical practice with a physician or physician assistant in the student’s home community. The School of Medicine and Health Sciences has more than 1,700 graduates from the PA program.

Physician assistants are health providers who practice medicine collaboratively with physician supervision. The University of North Dakota Department of Physician Assistant Studies focuses on its mission of primary care in rural and underserved areas of North Dakota as well as regionally, nationally and globally. The UND Program is one of 196 PA programs in the United States and is the only PA program in North Dakota.