Mohr named Catherine Worthingham Fellow by APTA

Document Type

News Article

Publication Date


Campus Unit

School of Medicine & Health Sciences


GRAND FORKS, N.D. — Chester Fritz Distinguished Professor Tom Mohr, PT, PhD, associate dean for Health Sciences at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, received the Catherine Worthingham Fellow Award from the American Physical Therapy Association. The APTA announced Mohr’s honor at its national NEXT Conference and Exposition in National Harbor, Md.

The Catherine Worthingham Fellow designation—FAPTA—honors individuals whose contributions to the profession through leadership, influence and achievements constitute frequent and sustained efforts to advance physical therapy. As a Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association, Mohr has earned the APTA’s highest honor.

“I am truly honored to be named a Catherine Worthingham Fellow,” Mohr said. “There are a number of friends and colleagues who opened doors for me, creating opportunities that allowed me to participate and contribute to the profession of physical therapy. Selecting from a long list, I want to thank Lynn Kubousek, John Wadsworth, Blair Packard and Bill Hatherill at the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy and Mary Jane Harris, Ellen Price and Karen Paschal at APTA; all of whom created opportunities for me to serve the profession at a national level.”

Mohr served as chair of the Department of Physical Therapy from 1993 until June of 2014, when he was named associate dean for Health Sciences. He earned his Bachelor of Science in Physical Therapy from the University of North Dakota, a Master of Science in Physical Therapy from the University of Minnesota; and a PhD in Physiology from the University of North Dakota. Mohr teaches in the areas of neuroscience, research, electrotherapy, and biomechanics. His primary areas of research are neuroscience, biomechanics, electromyography, and motion analysis. Mohr has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy and the North Dakota Board of Physical Therapy.

“Dr. Mohr's remarkable leadership skills, caring personality, commitment to excellence and passion for knowledge distinguish him as a deserving recipient of the prestigious Catherine Worthingham Fellow Award,” said David Relling, PT, PhD, associate professor of physical therapy and chair of the SMHS Department of Physical Therapy. “Tom's contributions in the areas of advocacy, education and practice have substantially impacted the profession of physical therapy at the local, state and national level. Dr. Mohr devoted countless hours to licensure issues and the development of the National Physical Therapy Examination. He has served in multiple leadership positions including the ND Board of Physical Therapy, Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy, and the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Those who have had the pleasure to work with Tom appreciate his kind encouragement, mentorship and selfless devotion to improving the profession.”

“Research collaborators such as Debbie Ingram, Nancy Fell, Randy Walker and Renee Mabey have been a joy to work with over the years,” Mohr said. “Above all, I want to thank my wife Peg, our sons Dan, Jason, Paul, Mike and Steve for their support, which allowed me time away from home to participate in professional activities.”