Kurt W. Webber


image preview

Date of Work


Date of Work


Identification #



Lieutenant Governor Rosemarie Myrdal sitting at a conference table with Secretary of State Al Jaeger, newly-elected Governor John Hoeven, Governor Ed Schafer, and Bryce Streibel, certifying North Dakota's Electoral College vote in the 2000 Presidential election. Letter from the attached to back of photo reads:

"TO: Presidential Electors, Edward T. Schafer, Rosemarie Myrdal, and Bryce Streibel. FR: Al Jaeger, Secretary of State. RE: Meeting of Electors - Photograph. Kurt W. Webber of Bismarck provided the enclosed photograph, which was taken at the meeting of the North Dakota Electoral College on December 18, 2000. Thank you for making that day a very memorable one in our state's and nation's history."

A Republican from Edinburg, Rosemarie Myrdal represented District 11 (Pembina and Walsh counties) in the North Dakota House from 1985 until 1993 and served as the Lieutenant Governor of North Dakota from 1993 to 2001.

Prior to being elected North Dakota Governor, Ed Schafer unsuccessfully challenged North Dakota Congressman Byron Dorgan in 1990. Two years later, Schafer, a Republican from Bismarck, won the gubernatorial election and served as North Dakota’s 30th Governor until 2001.

A Republican from Bismarck, John Hoeven was the president and CEO of the Bank of North Dakota before entering politics. He succeeded Ed Schafer as North Dakota Governor and served from 2001 until 2010, when he was elected to the US Senate.

Places Depicted

State Capital, Bismarck, North Dakota

Organizations Depicted

Electoral College

People Depicted

Rosemarie Myrdal, Ed Schafer, John Hoeven, Al Jaeger, Bryce Streibel


Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections, Chester Fritz Library, University of North Dakota


Rosemarie Myrdal, Ed Schafer, John Hoeven, Bryce Streibel, Electoral College, United States Presidential Election 2000


Image Location