Swann Studio


image preview

Date of Work



Swann Studio, Washington, D.C.

Identification #



Representatives from Fort Berthold with North Dakota members of Congress in 1956. None of the the members of the delegation are identified.

Senator Milton Young (front row on the left) represented North Dakota in the United States Senate from 1945 until 1981.

"Wild Bill" Langer (third from the left in the front row) served as North Dakota Governor from 1933 to 1934 and from 1937 until 1939. He was elected to the United States Senate in 1940 and served until his death in 1959.

Usher Burdick (to the right of Langer) had a long career in North Dakota politics and served in the North Dakota House of Representatives (1909-1911), as Lieutenant Governor of North Dakota (1911-1913), and in the United States House of Representatives (1935-1945 and 1949-1959).

Representative Otto Krueger (front row far right) served in the United States House of Representatives from 1953 until 1959.

Organizations Depicted

Fort Berthold Indian Reservation

People Depicted

Usher Burdick, Otto Krueger, William Langer, Milton Young


Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections, Chester Fritz Library, University of North Dakota


Usher Burdick, Milton Young, Otto Krueger, William Langer, Fort Berthold