

## North Dakota Law Review

Volume 1 | Number 2

Article 4

1924

# **Code Revision**

Sveinbjorn Johnson

## How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/ndlr

#### **Recommended Citation**

Johnson, Sveinbjorn (1924) "Code Revision," *North Dakota Law Review*: Vol. 1: No. 2, Article 4. Available at: https://commons.und.edu/ndlr/vol1/iss2/4

This Note is brought to you for free and open access by the School of Law at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in North Dakota Law Review by an authorized editor of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

The vote was canvassed by the Secretary and certified, under oath, to the Committee appointed by President Cupler. The Committee then reported to the President and the President to the Supreme Court.

Those receiving ten or more votes each were as follows: Tracy R. Bangs, 15; George Bangs 12; H. A. Bronson, 10; Horace Bagley, 10; A. W. Cupler, 11; A. G. Divet, 18; S. E. Ellsworth, 13; C. J. Fisk, 194; John Knauf, 22; Aubrey Lawrence, 33; W. A. McIntyre, 10; B. F. Spalding, 14; C. L. Young, 12; Alfred Zuger, 12.

Subsequent to the closing of the ballot 13 additional ballots were received, which did not change the result, and showed the following distribution among those listed above: George Bangs, 1; A. W. Cupler, 1; A. G. Divet, 2; C. J. Fisk 9; John Knauf, 2; W. A. McIntyre, 1.

The members of the Bar Board holding over are S. D. Adams and C. L. Young. Later the appointment of Judge Fisk has been announced.

#### CODE REVISION

The President of the State Bar Association appointed a Committee to outline a plan for the revision, compilation, or codification of the statutes. The last compilation was made in 1913, and the last codification in 1895. There have since been held five regular, and two special legislative sessions, resulting in additions to the statutes, of over two thousand pages. The enactments of the Session of 1925 will be included in the compilation.

The Committee consists of Sveinbjorn Johnson, Chairman, Chas. M. Pollock, Fargo, Aubrey Lawrence, Fargo, C. J. Fisk, Minot, Geo. A. Bangs, Grand Forks, Ed. Pierce, Sheldon, and S. E. Ellsworth, Jamestown. The Committee met at Fargo on December 20th, and, after canvassing the situation, decided to recommend a compilation of the statutes under the general supervision of the Supreme Court, the Court to make the necessary arrangements for printing and publishing the volume. This plan was successfully carried out in Montana when the latest revision was made. It is understood that Mr. Nestos will include in his message to the Legislature a recommendation that appropriate action be taken for the compilation of the statutes.

Members of the Bar can materially assist the Committee by bringing the facts as to the necessity for the compilation to the attention of their representatives in both houses of the Legislature.

Hon. Sveinbjorn Johnson,

Chairman