

# North Dakota Law Review

Volume 2 | Number 12

Article 3

1925

# **Committee Appointments**

North Dakota Law Review

## How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/ndlr

## **Recommended Citation**

North Dakota Law Review (1925) "Committee Appointments," *North Dakota Law Review*: Vol. 2: No. 12, Article 3.

Available at: https://commons.und.edu/ndlr/vol2/iss12/3

This Note is brought to you for free and open access by the School of Law at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in North Dakota Law Review by an authorized editor of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

date and up to the time of closing on October 30th. Nine additional ballots were so received. These were canvassed as directed on November 2nd. The result of the ballot is here noted:

S. D. Adams, Lisbon	242
C. L. Young, Bismarck (x)	78
C. J. Fisk, Minot (x)	77
Aubrey Lawrence, Fargo	33
John Knauf, Jamestown	19
A. W. Cupler, Fargo	17
A. G. Divet, Fargo	16
W. A. McIntyre, Grand Forks	14
F. J. Traynor, Devils Lake	14
Alfred Zuger, Bismarck	<b>1</b> 3
W. C. Crawford, Dickinson	12
Geo. Bangs, Grand Forks	10
Tracy R. Bangs, Grand Forks	10
G. S. Wooledge, Minot	10
S. E. Ellsworth, Jamestown	10

The names marked (x) represent present members of the Bar Board, whose terms are unexpired. It is interesting to note the number of ballots cast for these two, notwithstanding the fact that the ballot indicated that they could not be considered as candidates. The total number of names voted for was 121, those not listed above receiving less than ten votes each.

#### COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

President McIntyre has made his committee assignments, which have received the approval of the executive committee. The complete roster of committeemen will appear in the report of the annual meeting, and only the chairmen and vice-chairmen are listed here:

Legal Education and Admission—John O. Hanchett, Valley City, Chairman; F. E. Heckel, Grand Forks, Vice-Chairman;

Legislative—John W. Carr, Jamestown, Chairman; C. L. Young, Bismarck, Vice-Chairman;

Jurisprudence and Law Reform—G. F. Dullam, Bismarck, Chairman; L. E. Birdzell, Bismarck, Vice-Chairman.

Ethics of Bench and Bar—Chas. A. Pollock, Fargo, Chairman; E. T. Conmy, Fargo, Vice-Chairman;

Law Enforcement—Iver A. Acker, Hillsboro, Chairman; C. S. Shippy, Hope, Vice-Chairman;

Criminal Law—George F. Shafer, Bismarck, Chairman; John E. Williams, Washburn, Vice-Chairman;

American Law Institute—Geo. M. McKenna, Chairman; O. P. Cockerill, University, Vice-Chairman;

Terms, Salaries and Powers of Judges—John H. Lewis, Minot, Chairman; Ray O. Miller, Minot, Vice-Chairman;

Local Organizations—F. T. Cuthbert, Devils Lake, Chairman; H. B. Spiller, Cavalier, Vice-Chairman;

Uniform State Laws and Comparative Law—Paul Campbell, Minot, Chairman; G. S. Wooledge, Minot, Vice-Chairman;

Internal Affairs—Fred J. Traynor, Devils Lake, Chairman; Torger Sinness, Devils Lake, Vice-Chairman;

Memorials—H. A. Libby, Grand Forks, Chairman; P. G. Swenson, Hillsboro, Vice-Chairman;

Correct Information and Co-operation with the Press—A. W. Cupler, Fargo, Chairman; John Knauf, Jamestown, Vice-Chairman;

Morgan Memorial-Tracy R. Bangs, Grand Forks, Chairman;

Program 1927 Meeting—O. P. Cockerill, University, Chairman; Philip R. Bangs, Grand Forks, Vice-Chairman.

Comparative Law--L. R. Nostdal, Rugby, Chairman; B. F. Whipple, Fessenden, Vice-Chairman;

Public Utilities—John Thorpe, Bismarck, Chairman; E. B. Cox, Bismarck, Vice-Chairman.

Citizenship and Americanization—A. G. Porter, Edgeley, Chairman.

### CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

Hon. Herbert S. Hadley of Missouri, as head of the Committee on Criminal Procedure and Judicial Administration of the National Crime Commission, has now presented to the Bar of the country an outline for a Code of Criminal Procedure. Note the names of the other men who had part in the preparation of this outline, namely: Judson A. Harmon, former Governor of Ohio; Roscoe Pound, Dean of Harvard Law School; John H. Wigmore, Dean of Northwestern U. Law School; J. H. Banton, District Attorney of New York County; U. S. Webb, Attorney General of California; Oscar Hallam, former Judge of Supreme Court of Minnesota; Marcus Kavanaugh, Judge of Superior Court of Chicago; E. R. Keedy, Professor at U. of Pennsylvania and former Judge Advocate of U. S. Army; Geo. M. Napier, Attorney General of Georgia; Col. Philip S. Van Cise, former District Attorney of Denver; J. Weston Allen, former Attorney General of Massachusetts; Dan Moody, Attorney General of Texas.

The outline can not be presented in full for lack of space, but the complete outline, together with a statement of reasons by the Committee, may be obtained by sending the sum of 25c for the October number of the American Bar Association Journal, 209 LaSalle St., Chicago. Briefly summarized, the outline presents the following:

- 1. Every person charged with felony to be immediately taken before a magistrate, informed of his rights, given opportunity to make public statement.
- 2. Prosecution by indictment or information, naming or stating offense, bill of particulars for good cause shown.
- 3. Bail to be commensurate with crime and criminal record of defendant; examination of bondsmen under oath, false statements making