UND

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

University Senate Meeting Minutes

UND Publications

1-13-2000

January 13, 2000

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

Recommended Citation

University of North Dakota. "January 13, 2000" (2000). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 461. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/461

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the UND Publications at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

Minutes of the University Senate Meeting

January 13, 2000

The January meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:05 p.m. on Thursday, January 13, 2000, in room 7, Gamble Hall. John Bridewell presided.

2.

Goodwin, Janice

The following members of the Senate were present:

Antes, James Bass, Gerald Birdsall, Jason Bott, Alexander Boyd, Robert Bridewell, John Cameron, Beth Cutler, Mary DeMers, Judy Detke, Siegfried Diez, Ray C. Drewes, Mary Elbert, Dennis Elsinga, Lillian Melland, Helen Ettling, John Fivizzani, Albert Gabrynowicz, Joanne Gagnon, Gregory Gendreau, Keith

Hansen, Kenneth Hume, Wendelin Jeno, Susan Kweit, Mary Kweit, Robert Lang, Gretchen Chesley Lee, Randy H. Lowe, D. Scott Lucke, Peggy Mabey, Renee Marshall, David McDonald, Jeff Moretti, Charles Munski, Douglas Nelson, Berly Nichols, Elizabeth Norman, Katherine

O'Kelly, Marcia Oliver, Laura Olsen, Glenn Perry, David Petros, Thomas Rakow, Lana Richard, Don Richards, Thomas Schatz, Sarah Semrau, Chris Shabb, Cynthia Sheridan, Daniel Smith, Bruce Stevens, Wes Till, Robert E. Tschacher, Walter Wiggen, Thomas P. Williams, Carmen Woehle, Ralph

3.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Bernsten, Patricia Berger, Kristy Christianson, Tim Davis, W. Jeremy Hilmer, John Houn, Jody

Khavanin, Mohammad Knull, Harvey Kupchella, Charles Lovelace, Kent Phillips, Monte Rankin, Elizabeth

Rice, Daniel Shaeffer, James Torson, Ned Wilson, H. David 5009

4.

The following announcements were made:

- a. Mr. Bridewell informed the Senate that the Senate Committee on Committees had appointed Walter Tschacher to the Senate Student Policy Committee and Patricia Berntsen to the Library Committee.
- b. Mr. Bridewell also made the Senate aware of the Strategic Planning Survey that was distributed to all faculty members and encouraged them to respond.
- c. Lake Region State College Faculty Senate unanimously passed the following resolutions regarding changes in Board of Higher Education policies:

Policy 607.4 - The Lake Region State College Faculty Senate resolved that the State Board of Higher Education does not institute a policy on faculty sick and dependent leave.

A second resolution read: Be it resolved that if a faculty sick leave policy is instituted by the State Board of Higher Education, that the Board support the Academic Officer's recommendation according to their minutes of December 7 and 8, 1999, which stated: "It was consensus that the Academic Affairs Council recommends to the Chancellor that campuses be given the flexibility and authority to develop faculty sick leave policies."

5.

Mr. Bridewell informed the Senate of a correction made to the minutes from the December 2, 1999 Senate meeting. The correction was made to the announcement made regarding the Senate Web page. It should state "included on the site are the following: the Bylaws of the University Senate (not System)." There being no further corrections, the minutes were approved by general consent.

The Chair announced the Question Period. Ms. Gabrynowicz asked how much it cost the University to add the Board of Higher Education proposed policy changes to the Senate Web Page, since the Board of Higher Education Office did not add them to their Web page as the cost was too high. Ms. Williams responded that it was coordinated through Jan Orvik, University Relations, and Carol Drechsel, Registrar's Office, and that the cost was not that great.

6.

Ms. Rakow asked if the calendar of Senate committee meetings could be published in the University Newsletter. Mr. Bridewell responded that it could be added to the Senate Web page.

Mr. Bridewell presented the Annual Report of the Summer Session Committee. Mr. Kweit moved to table the report until the February 3, 2000 meeting.

Mr. Petros presented an analysis of the proposed policy change regarding Policy 605.1.3 Academic Freedom and Tenure and moved to oppose the proposed wording change. Ms DeMers seconded the motion. Discussion commenced. Both Mr. Petros and Ms. DeMers agreed to withdraw the motion. Ms. Gabrynowicz moved to postpone all voting on policy changes until the February 3, 2000 Senate meeting. Mr. Sheridan seconded the motion. The motion was rejected by a vote of 26 for and 29 against.

Mr. Petros moved again to oppose the proposed wording change. Ms. DeMers seconded the motion. The motion was defeated by a vote of 25 for, 27 against, and 4 abstaining. Ms. Rakow moved to reconsider the motion as the Senate members were confused as to what a yes vote meant. Ms. DeMers seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a vote of 36 for, 16 against, and 3 abstaining.

The original motion was then brought back for a second vote with a yes vote meaning that the language of the policy should remain the same. The motion failed by a vote of 22 for, 31 against, and 2 abstaining.

9

Ms. Rakow, representing the Standing Committee on Faculty Rights, presented an analysis of the proposed changes to Policy 605.2 and moved to recommend that the Senate support the Board of Higher Education proposal to replace the Special Review Committee level of resolution of academic staff grievances with an outside mediation option. Mr. Petros seconded the motion. Discussion ensued. Mr. McDonald moved discussion cease. Mr. Fivizzani seconded the motion. The original motion was then voted upon and approved by a vote of 53 for, 0 against, and 1 abstaining.

Ms. Rakow then moved to recommend that an outside review panel option be added as an alternative to the Standing Committee on Faculty Rights grievance process, at the choice of the grievant. Ms. Shabb seconded the motion. The motion was voted upon and approved by a vote of 34 for and 16 against.

10.

Mr. Marshall moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:29 p.m. The motion was seconded, voted upon and approved.

Mary Bergstrom, for Carmen Williams, Secretary