

## University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

**University Senate Meeting Minutes** 

**UND Publications** 

5-2-2019

May 2, 2019

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

## **Recommended Citation**

University of North Dakota. "May 2, 2019" (2019). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 348. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/348

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the UND Publications at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

## Minutes of the University Senate Meeting May 2, 2019

1.

The May meeting of the University Senate was held at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 2, 2019 in Room 113, Education. Chair Paul Todhunter presided.

2

The following members of the Senate were present:

Adjekum, Daniel Alberts, Crystal Blackburn, Royce Correll, Scott Denny, Dawn DiLorenzo, Thomas Dodge, Michael Green, Noelle Halgren, Cara Hanson, Erik Heitkamp, Thomasine Helleloid, Duane Hoffmann, Mark Holm, Jeff Hunter, Joshua Iseminger, Colt

Jeno, Susan
Jorgenson, Terra
Juntunen, Cindy
Keengwe, Jared
Legerski, Elizabeth
Lim, Howe
Linder, Meloney
Lindseth, Paul
Malheim, Jeremy
Matz, Adam
McGinniss, Mike
Mihelich, John
Millspaugh, Richard
Mochoruk, James
Munski, Doug
Myers, Brad

Oancea, Cristina
Ozaki, Casey
Peterson, Lawrence
Petros, Tom
Rabiei, Minou
Schaefbauer, Jordan
Shivers, Jed
Shogren, Maridee
Sturges, Denyse
Takahashi, Shuzo
Todhunter, Paul
Vandeberg, Greg
VanLooy, Jeff
Wood, Bo
Zerr, Ryan
Zimmerman, Sonia

3.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Berg, Justin
Bjerke, Elizabeth
Campbell, Caroline
Carlson, Hannah
Clauson, Tyler
Dauphinais, Kirsten
Doze, Van
Dschaak, Kaleb
Du, Guodong
Eggen, Summer
El-Rewini, Hesham
Farris, Nick
Fernandez-Haan, Zach

Gjellstad, Melissa
Gupta, Surojit
Henley, Amy
Hume, Wendelin
Kennedy, Mark
Laguette, Soizik
Kostrzewski, Diana
Luber, Patrick
Majerus, Ryan
Mostad-Jensen, Anne
Neubert, Jeremiah
Olson, Devon
Reed, Patricia

Rogers, Aimee
Rundquist, Brad
Sens, Mary Ann
Simonson, Ty
Smart, Kathy
Tang, Clement
Tavakolian, Kouhyar
Walker, Stephanie
Wilson, Nick
Wynne, Joshua
Yang, Cai Xia
Yoshida, Shou

4.

The following announcements were made:

- a. Ms. Legerski provided a brief Council of College Faculties (CCF) update. She reported that the CCF meets again on Tuesday, May 7, 2019.
- b. Mr. Malheim stated that he is taking over as Staff Senate President.
- c. Mr. Hanson provided an update from Student Senate. He stated that today is his last official day as student body president.
- d. Mr. Shivers, VPFO, shared information on the state of the university budget. He discussed national as well as North Dakota Higher Education trends. He reported that the new biennium budget ends the decline in state funding for higher education. He discussed how we can position

ourselves for sustainability in the industry as we address our deferred maintenance. He reported that the merit pool is 2.0% for this year and 2.5% for the following year. There was a permanent increase to the Medical School budget and a biennium bump for the Law School.

5.

Quorum was established.

6.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the minutes of the April 4, 2019 University Senate meeting; without objection, the minutes were approved.

7.

Mr. Todhunter made the following announcements:

- a. IT supports faculty and staff personal mobile devices if assistance is needed.
- b. The University Council will meet on Tuesday, May 7 at 3:30 p.m. in the Memorial Union Ballroom.

8.

The twenty-minute question period opened at 4:14 p.m.

Mr. Vandeburg asked about plans for family housing. Mr. Shivers stated we are trying to create space so that we can have private developers build attractive housing and make the campus denser in utilization. Mr. Vandeburg asked what the timeframe is for this project. Mr. Shivers replied that an RFP has been issued and returned. The timeframe is expected to be in the next 12-24 months.

Ms. Alberts asked if mandatory holds are allowed for advising. Mr. DiLorenzo replied that they are still allowed, but it has been requested that advising holds to be removed for earlier registration. This may change in the future.

Mr. Mochoruk thanked Mr. Shivers for the final parking resolution this year. He asked about privatization of dining services. Mr. Shivers replied that the numbers from the RFP are being analyzed.

The question period ended at 4:23 p.m.

9.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the annual report of the Senate Budget Committee. Without objection, the report was filed.

10.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the Curriculum Committee Report. Mr. VanLooy moved to approved, Mr. Munski seconded and the motion carried.

11.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the May 2019 Degree Candidates. Ms. Alberts moved to approve, Mr. Zerr seconded and the motion carried.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the validations from the Essential Studies Committee. Mr. Munski moved to approve, Mr. Mochoruk seconded and the motion carried.

13.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the Essential Studies internal policy change. Mr. Mochoruk moved to approve, Mr. Zerr seconded and the motion carried.

14.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the Foreign Language Placement Testing and Credit policy revision. Mr. Munski moved to approve, Mr. Hanson seconded and the motion carried.

15.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the Faculty Handbook Section III revision. Mr. Iseminger moved to approve and Mr. VanLooy seconded. Discussion ensued. The original motion was withdrawn. Mr. Munski moved to table, Mr. Millspaugh seconded and the motion carried.

16.

Mr. Todhunter called attention to the proposed Academic Success and Wellness Period policy. Mr. Munski moved to table, Mr. Millspaugh seconded. Discussion ensued. The motion to table was withdrawn by Mr. Munski. Discussion continued. Mr. Helleloid moved to approve and Mr. Hanson seconded. Discussion continued. Mr. Hanson moved the following amendments as exceptions:

- 1. Set by certification
- 2. Federal state law
- 3. Extraordinary circumstances allowed by APAC

Mr. Mochoruk seconded and the motion carried.

17.

Mr. Hanson moved to extend the meeting for ten minutes. Mr. Petros seconded and the motion carried. Discussion continued.

18.

Mr. Mochoruk moved to extend the meeting for ten minutes. Mr. Blackburn seconded and the motion carried. Discussion continued.

19.

Quorum was lost and Mr. Hanson moved to suspend quorum. Mr. Peterson seconded but the motion did not carry.

20.

The meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.

Scott Correll, Secretary University Senate