## UND

# University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

**University Senate Meeting Minutes** 

**UND** Publications

11-7-1991

### November 7, 1991

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

### **Recommended Citation**

University of North Dakota. "November 7, 1991" (1991). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 242. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/242

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the UND Publications at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

Alice T. Clark Academic Affairs Box 002 NOV 1 & 1991

Minutes of the University Senate Meeting

November 7, 1991

1.

The November meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:05 p.m. on Thursday, November 7, 1991, in room 7, Gamble Hall. Lonny Winrich presided.

2.

Henry, Gordon

The following members of the Senate were present:

Clifford, Thomas J. Akers, Thomas Antes, James Becker, Keith Berg, Mark Bostrom, Donald E. Boyd, Robert Dallin, Stephanie Davis, W. Jeremy Engel, Dean Frein, George H. Gabrynowicz, Joanne Gard, Betty Gott, Gary Hamerlik, Gerald Hampsten, Elizabeth Harris, Mary Hein, David Heitkamp, Thomasine

Hoffarth, Al Hunter, Susan Irwin, Nathan Iseminger, Gordon Jeckort, Daniel Johnson, A. William Kantrud, Alan Karner, Frank R. Koozin, Timothy Kweit, Robert W. Lang, Gretchen Lee, Randy H. Lewis, Robert Lindholm, Lynn M. McKenzie, James Merrill, Lois J. Mikkelson, Mike Moen, Janet Kelly

Munski, Douglas Naismith, Donald P. Nielsen, Monty E. O'Donnell, Sheryl O'Kelly, Marcia Owens, Thomas C. Phillips, Monte Poolman, James Pynn, Ronald E. Sanborn, Patricia Schubert, George W. Tweton, D. Jerome Vickrey, Barry Volden, Cecilia Williams, John A. Winrich, Lonny Zellers, Kurt Zimmerman, Sonia

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Beiswenger, Lyle Bender, Myron Berg, Shane Clark, Alice T. D'Andraia, Frank Dahl, Ivan Dawes Kenneth Demers, Judy Devine, Gary Elsinga, Lillian Franklin, Elizabeth Henricksen, Mogens Hess, Carla Wulff Jacobsen, Bruce James, Edwin C. Knull, Harvey R. Lawrence, W. Fred McElroy-Edwards, J. Muus, Dan O'Kelly, Bernard Odegard, John Radonovich, Lewis Raposo, Jorge Shubert, Elliot Tomasek, Henry J. Wilborn, Graciela Zimney, Kory

The Chair made the following announcements: 1) There is a correction to the minutes of the October meeting under #15, the second sentence should read: The faculty member elected will also act as the UND representative to the Council of College Faculties. The phrase at the end of the sentence, "during the second year of the term," should be deleted. 2) The Faculty Handbook is in the process of being updated. 3) The Executive Committee approved the establishment of an ad hoc committee on faculty/student dating for the purpose of drafting a policy and to make a recommendation to the Executive Committee regarding creation of a permanent committee on professional ethics. The Chair asked anyone interested in serving to call Barry Vickrey, Chair of the Committee on Committees. 4) The business meeting of the Senate will conclude at 5:15 p.m. today and the last fifteen minutes will be devoted to a report by Sara Hanhan from the Presidential Search Committee. Upon completion, the Search Committee will hold an open forum regarding the presidential search.

4.

The Chair asked if there were further corrections to the minutes of the October meeting. There being no further corrections, the minutes were declared approved, as corrected.

5.

The Chair called for the question period. Mr. Lee reported that contrary to the distributed notice, once the new security gates are in operation, there will still be overnight airport parking for faculty, with prior approval from security. A magnetized card system will be introduced at that time.

There being no further questions, the Chair closed the question period and proceeded to the consent calendar.

6.

Mr. Kweit moved to receive and file the annual report of the Faculty Rights Committee. The motion was seconded and there being no objection, the motion was approved.

7.

Mr. Johnson moved to receive and file the annual report of the Honorary Degrees Committee. Mr. Irwin seconded the motion. There being no objection, the motion was approved.

8.

Mr. Kweit moved to receive and file the annual report of the General Education Committee. Mr Zeller seconded the motion. There being no objection, the motion was approved. Mr. Kweit moved the recommendation from the Senate Executive Committee to approve the proposed Constitution of the Council of College Faculties and of its Constituent Systems Senates and to send it to the Council with copies to the Chancellor and the Board of Higher Education. Mr. Johnson seconded the motion and discussion followed. The motion was voted upon and carried by a vote of 52 for, 2 against and 1 abstaining.

#### 10.

2

Melissa Parker, Co-Chair of the Curriculum Committee, presented the change of degree, department, major titles and the new undergraduate minor in Pharmacology and Toxicology. Mr. Bostrom moved approval. Mr Munski seconded the motion and discussion followed. The motion was voted upon and carried unanimously.

#### 11.

Mr. Poolman, Student Body President, asked for input from the group regarding a proposal he plans to present to the Student Senate to change the number of faculty serving on Student Senate Committees. He explained that he is proposing that there be only one faculty member on each committee for consistency. Discussion was held and the consensus of the comments was that additional faculty should be serving on the Student Activities Committees and the Board of Publications as these are heavy workload committees and although a faculty member may be committed to serving, there would be meetings held which would be impossible to attend. Mr. Poolman thanked the Senate for the comments which he will take back to the Student Senate.

#### 12.

Sara Hanhan, Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, reported on the search process. She stated that a consultant has been hired by the Board to assist with the search and that the Board has asked the committee to be pro-active in seeking minority and women applicants. A tentative time line has been set up with open forums being held here and across the state on November 7 and 8. There will be a November 14 meeting of the committee and they hope to begin screening applicants by January 11. Candidates will be invited to campus in early March and a small list will be invited back later in March to also meet with the Board. The committee plans to make recommendations to the Board by the end of March. Ms. Hanhan responded to questions and comments.

#### 13.

A motion was made for adjournment. There being no objection, the meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.

Monty Nielsen Secretary