

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

University Senate Meeting Minutes

UND Publications

1-24-1991

January 24, 1991

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

Recommended Citation

University of North Dakota. "January 24, 1991" (1991). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 233. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/233

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the UND Publications at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

Minutes of the University Senate Meeting

January 24, 1991

1.

The January meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:10 p.m. on Thursday, January 24, 1991, in room 7, Gamble Hall. Robert Kweit presided.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Clifford, Thomas J. Akers, Thomas Baltisberger, Richard Bender, Myron Bostrom, A. Joy Bostrom, Donald E. Boyd, Robert Clark, Alice T. Collay, Michelle D'Andraia, Frank Davis, W. Jeremy Dawes, Kenneth Deal, John Dearden, Bruce Eberhardt, Bruce Elsinga, Lillian Erjavec, John

Frein, George H. Gard, Betty Hamerlik, Gerald Hanhan, Sara Harris, Mary Henry, Gordon Irwin, Nathan Jaeger, Audrey Johnson, A. William Karner, Frank King, Lawrence Kuznia, Dave Kweit, Mary Kweit, Robert Lawrence, W. Fred Lee, Randy H. Lindseth, Paul

McElroy-Edwards, Jackie McKenzie, James Nagel, Kate Nielsen, Monty E. O'Kelly, Bernard O'Kelly, Marcia Owens, Thomas Parker, Melissa Poolman, James Pynn, Ronald E. Ramsey, Lynn Sanborn, P. Schubert, George W. Shubert, Elliot Vickrey, Barry Winrich, Lonny Wyckoff, John W.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Beiswenger, Lyle
Bolonchuk, William W.
Caum, Brenda
DeMers, Judy
Effertz, Marie
Fugleberg, Sara
Gabrynowicz, Joanne
Gershman, Kathleen
Hanna, Todd
Henricksen, Mogens

Hess, Carla Wulff
Hill, Richard L.
Hoffarth, Al
Hunter, Susan
Jacobsen, Bruce
James, Edwin C.
Knull, Harvey
Langemo, Diane
Lindholm, Lynn
Markovich, Stephen

Merrill, Lois J.
Naismith, Donald
O'Donnell, Sheryl
Odegard, John
Purdy, Robert
Tomasek, Henry J.
Tweton, D. Jerome
Uherka, David J.
Williams, John A.
Zellers, Kurt

The Chair made the following announcements: 1) He distributed a copy of the revised mission statement of the University of North Dakota and called upon Alice Clark who stated that the revision was recommended by the Council of Deans and approved by the Strategic Planning Council. 2) He distributed a portion of the University of North Dakota presentation to the House of Representatives Education Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee by Alice Clark. He commended the Vice President on the excellent job that she did and stated that he wants the Senate to be aware of what the administration is doing. Mr. Kweit also said that he testified to provide a faculty perspective. 3) Mary Harris has requested that the Senate nominate faculty to be considered for service on the self-study committee for North Central accreditation. Mr. Kweit said that he has requested that the Committee on Committees nominate faculty to serve on the committee and an election will be held at the February meeting of the Senate. Deans of colleges have also been asked to make nominations.

4.

The Chair asked if there were any corrections to the minutes of the December meeting. There being none, he declared the minutes approved as distributed.

5.

A question period was held. Mr. Johnson asked who has the responsibility of deciding when the University should be shut down. Mr. Clifford responded that the Vice-President of Operations makes the announcement after consultation with the other vice-presidents. He stated that this coincided with the operation on most other campuses.

6.

Ms. Sanborn moved a recommendation from the General Education Requirements Committee that the General Education Requirements be reorganized and streamlined in accordance with the criteria stated in the resolution approved by the Senate in December. Ms. Hanhan seconded the motion. Discussion followed. A vote was taken and the motion was approved by a vote of 47 for and 4 abstaining.

7.

Ms. Sanborn moved a recommendation from the General Education Requirements Committee that a General Education Faculty be created in University College. Ms. Harris seconded the motion. Discussion followed and an editorial change was made so that the wording would be "that a General Education Faculty in University College be studied." A vote was taken and the motion was approved with 26 voting for, 22 against and 1 abstaining.

Mr. Elliot Shubert moved that the Promotion Policy be referred to committee for review and possible revision with respect to criteria for promotions in rank and procedural guidelines for promotion. The Committee assigned to conduct the review should file a report with their recommendations to the Senate by the April 1991 meeting date. Mr. Winrich seconded the motion. Discussion followed. The motion was voted upon and approved with 43 voting for, 1 against and 3 abstaining. (The Executive Committee will determine the referral committee.)

9.

Mr. Vickrey moved the implementation of the admission policy approved by the Senate in May 1990 be postponed until summer term 1993 and that an appropriate committee of the Senate collect and evaluate data during the interim on the effects the policy would have had, if implemented, and especially the effects on minority students and students with special needs. Mr. Henry seconded the motion. After discussion, it appeared that the portion of the policy which most thought should be postponed was the retention part and therefore, the mover agreed to an editorial change in the motion so that it would read: "that implementation of the retention portion of the admission policy approved by the Senate in May 1990 be postponed until summer term 1993 and that an appropriate committee of the Senate collect and evaluate data during the interim on the effects the policy would have had, if implemented, and especially the effects on minority students and students with special needs. Any admission conditions or stipulations imposed on students pursuant to the May 1990 policy are to be removed." The motion was voted upon and approved by a vote of 45 for and 1 against.

10.

The meeting adjourned at 5:33 p.m.

Monty Nielsen Secretary