UND

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

University Senate Meeting Minutes

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

4-18-1974

April 18, 1974

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

Recommended Citation

University of North Dakota. "April 18, 1974" (1974). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 104. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/104

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

EDWARD WARNER LIBRARY

1049

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING

April 18, 1974

1.

The April special meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:12 p.m. on Thursday, April 18, 1974, in Room 7, Gamble Hall. Mr. Tweton presided.

Koenker, William

Kolstoe, Ralph

Kraft, Larry

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Anderson, Owen Apanian, Ronald Behringer, Marjorie Blevins, Wally Brown, Russell Bzoch, Ronald Caldwell, Mary Engel, Dean Fletcher, Alan Ford, Donald Iseminger, Gordon Johnson, A. William Kannowski, Paul Kemper, Gene

Kraft, Lee Lundberg, Stuart Marti, Leonard Mitchell, Robbie Moe, Michael Murray, Stanley Naismith, Donald Nelson, Gini Nordlie, Robert O'Kelly, Bernard Oslund, Valborg Penn, John Phillips, Monte Pomeroy, Earl Read, Tamar Reid, John Robertson, Donald Rogers, John Rowe, Claire Rushing, Robert Russell, LaVonne Stenberg, Virgil Strentz, Herbert Thorson, Playford Tomasek, Henry Tweton, Jerome

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Clifford, Thomas Ali, Sam Bale, Harold Bodelson, Eric Brubakken, Ray Brumleve, Stanley Clark, Alice Fickenscher, Kevin Froemke, Holly Goderstad, Lee Grina, Mary Hanson, Toney Jo Hedahl, Beulah Heyse, Margaret Jarman, Lloyd Kaelke, Michael King, Robert Koenig, Walter MacKichan, Ruth Perrone, Vito Peterson, Russell Ramsett, David Raymond, Arthur Rude, Ramon Skogley, Gerald Swanson, Loren Ulven, Milford Van Voorhis, Robert Vennes, John Warner, Edward Wright, Paul

There being no corrections, the minutes of the meeting of April 4, 1974 were ordered approved as submitted.

4.

Miss Nelson moved for approval of the following amendment to the By-laws of the University Senate under Membership, section 6 (second reading): "The Student Senate will provide for the election of 24 student members to the Student Senate, who with the President of the Student Body and the Vice-President, make up the student members to the University Senate and will also provide for the starting date and duration of their terms of office." The motion was seconded and discussion followed. Robbie Mitchell moved to refer the motion to the President's Ad Hoc Committee on Governance. The motion was seconded, voted upon and carried.

5.

6.

The recommendation for adoption of Freedom of Information Act was withdrawn from the agenda.

Mr. Strentz reported on behalf of the Senate Committee on Evaluation of Administrators. The Senate Committee on Evaluation of Administrators hopes to have ready for the May meeting of the Senate the following items: (1) Recommended for adoption: An evaluation form for University administrators based upon the "Statement of Administrator Responsibilities" adopted by the University Senate April 6, 1972; (2) Recommended for acceptance: Procedures to be followed in the evaluation of University administrators; (3) Recommended for action: Appointment of a Senate committee to continue the work of this committee with the purpose of conducting the first evaluation of administrators during the second semester of the 1974-75 school year.

7.

Mr. Blevins moved for the adoption of the following Tenure Reform: (1) Appeal routes are to be established for cases where individuals may have been deprived of just consideration in tenure and contract renewal; (2) Procedure should be developed where tenure may be conditionally granted. In such cases tenure would be granted with requirements such as an individual instructor attending teacher improvement seminars or being able to demonstrate improvement in student evaluation; (3) Tenure should be periodically reviewed utilizing the same criteria that are employed in the granting of tenure. Such a review system would include the possibility that tenure may be revoked; (4) Student evaluation should play an important role in the granting of tenure; (5) Formal procedures will be established for recommendations regarding tenure and their review. Students will sit on all committees involved in these matters; (6) There will be no automatic tenure granted. The motion was seconded. Mr. Koenker moved for postponement of consideration of the motion until after receipt of the state-wide tenure policy. The motion was seconded, voted upon and carried.

8.

The Senate went into executive session to consider a report from the Honorary Degrees Committee.

Mr. Naismith moved that the Senate recommend to the President that . . . be granted an honorary degree with the degree and the time of the granting to be designated by the President. The motion was seconded, discussed, voted upon and carried.

9.

A motion was made for adjournment. The motion was seconded, voted upon and carried. The meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

Stanley Murray Acting Secretary