

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

University Senate Meeting Minutes

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

3-5-1970

March 5, 1970

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

Recommended Citation

University of North Dakota. "March 5, 1970" (1970). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 83. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/83

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

March 5, 1969 70

1.

The March meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 5, 1970, in Room 7, Gamble Hall. Mr. Bzoch presided.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Starcher, George W. Anderson, Donald G. Apanian, Ronald A. Bashara, Michael E. Brommel, Bernard J. Bullard, Charles W. Bzoch, Ronald C. Caldwell, Robert A. Crawford, Robert F. Dixon, John D. Dunlevy, Patrick M. Facey, Betty M. Facey, Vera Fisch, William B. Fletcher, Alan G. Ford, Donald H. Fuglesten, Harlan G. Golseth, Anne E.

Halvorson, Warren M. Hampsten, Richard Hankerson, Kenneth L. Hansmeier, Thomas W. Hanson, Roger K. Heyse, Margaret F. Jacobson, Harvey Jarman, Lloyd L. Johnson, A. William Koenker, William E. Kraus, Olen Kulas, Ludwik Lund, Steven P. McKenzie, Ruby M. Morgan, William I. Moum, Michael R. Norman, Ernest J. Ollerich, Dwayne

Omdahl, Lloyd Oslund, Valborg Pederson, Clara Penn, John S. Reiten, Palmer J. Robertson, Donald J. Rognlie, Philip A. Russell, LaVonne Rustad, Mike L. Sturges, A. W. Steckler, Stephen P. Thomforde, C. J. Tomasek, Henry J. Wasinger, Gordon B. Webb, John R. Whalen, C. J. Wynn, John T.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Boehle, William R. Clifford, Thomas J. Curry, Myron

Cushman, Martelle Harwood, Theodore H. O'Kelly, Bernard Perrone, Vito Rowe, John L. Rushing, Robert K. Tweton, D. Jerome Wright, Paul H.

3.

There being no corrections, the minutes of the February 12, 1970, meeting were ordered approved as submitted.

4.

The Chair read the following communication from the AAUP:

"Resolved, that the UND Chapter of the AAUP, in conformity with the stand taken at the 1969 national AAUP convention, urges the University Senate to re-evaluate the practice of granting academic credit for ROTC courses and the granting of faculty status to ROTC staff members."

Mr. Hankerson moved that this item be referred to the Curriculum Committee with instructions to report back to the Senate by the end of the semester. The motion was seconded and discussion followed. The motion to refer was voted upon and carried.

Mr. Rognlie moved the recommendation of the Committee on Committees that the authority to recognize student organizations be transferred from the Student Activities Committee to the Student Policy Committee. The motion was seconded, voted upon and carried.

6.

Representing the Committee on Committees, Mr. Rognlie nominated Mr. Bzoch, Mr. Cory, and Mr. Murry to serve on an Advisory Committee on Admissions—a Committee advisory to the Director of Admissions and consisting of one administrator appointed by the President, two faculty members elected for one year by the Faculty Senate, and two students elected for one year by the Student Senate. The Chair called for nominations from the floor. Mr. Bzoch requested that his name be withdrawn from the ballot. Mr. Kulas moved that an unanimous ballot be cast for Mr. Murry and Mr. Cory. The motion was seconded, voted upon, and carried.

7.

It was moved, seconded, voted upon and carried that the meeting adjourn at 4:20.

R. M. McKenzie Secretary