UND

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

University Senate Meeting Minutes

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

6-18-1969

June 18, 1969

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

Recommended Citation

University of North Dakota. "June 18, 1969" (1969). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 72. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/72

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

June 18, 1969

(NOT TO BE MADE AVAILABLE TO NON-FACULTY MEMBERS)

1.

A special meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:00 p.m. Wednesday, June 18, 1969, in Room 415 of Twamley Hall. Mr. Penn presided.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Starcher, George W.	Facey, Vera	McKenzie, Ruby M.
Apanian, Ronald	Ford, Donald H.	O'Kelly, Bernard
Boehle, William	Golseth, Anne	Penn, John S.
Brommel, Bernard J.	Hampsten, Richard F.	Reid, John R.
Brumleve, Stanley	Heyse, Margaret	Robertson, Donald J.
Bzoch, Ronald C.	Jacobson, Harvey	Rognlie, Philip A.
Caldwell, Robert A.	Johnson, A. William	Smith, Glen
Curry, Myron	Kannowski, Paul B.	Stenberg, Virgil
Cushman, Martelle M.	Koenker, William E.	Tweton, D. Jerome

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Behsman, Ervin A. Bullard, Charles Clifford, Thomas Cornatzer, William Cunningham, Harold Gustafson, Ben G. Harwood, Theodore H. Hershbell, Jackson P. Kolstoe, Ralph Laird, Wilson M. Margulies, Martin B. Naismith, D. P. Nordlie, Robert C. Oslund, Valborg Pearce, Donald J. Perrone, Vito Potter, Gerald Rykken, Marjorie Skidmore, Duane Tomasek, Henry J. Whalen, Cornelius Witmer, Robert B. Wynne, John T.

3.

Mr. Johnson presented the attached recommendation concerning the Doctor of Arts in Teaching degree and moved that the Senate approve the granting of this degree for recommendation to the State Board of Higher Education. The motion was seconded and discussion followed. Mr. Tweton requested that Mr. Robinson, a visitor, be allowed to address the Senate. There being no objection, the request was granted. The motion was voted upon and carried.

4.

It was moved, seconded, voted upon and carried that the meeting adjourn at 4:30 p.m.

R. M. McKenzie Secretary APPENDIX I (to Graduate Faculty minutes) May 8, 1969



Doctor of Arts in Teaching

The Doctor of Arts in Teaching (D.A.T.) degree program is designed to prepare teachers for the 4-year and 2-year colleges in subject matter fields. The recipient of this degree must have demonstrated a command of knowledge in the broad field of the degree and an ability to teach the subject at the post-secondary level.

The D.A.T. degree requires the completion of a program of ninety semester credits beyond the baccalaureate degree. The program of study will provide for the following:

- a. A minumum of 60 credits of work in the discipline (the major) of which no more than 20 credits will be designated as an area of concentration. Included in the area of concentration will be a minimum of 5 credits of independent research.
- b. A minimum of 10 credits in areas cognate to the major.
- c. A minimum of 15 credits in college teaching. The majority of this work will be in a teaching internship in the discipline and in work in the major department preparatory to the internship.

Only those persons holding a Master's degree are eligible for admission to the D.A.T. program. The degree program will require a minimum of two years of study beyond the Master's degree. At least two regular consecutive semesters of residence are required on the University of North Dakota campus.

A written comprehensive examination will be required before advancement to Candidacy for the degree. This examination will cover the broad field of the major and will be prepared by the Graduate Faculty of the department. A final oral examination based on the area of concentration and the independent research also is required. A committee of three members of the Graduate Faculty will supervise the student's program.