

## University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

**University Senate Meeting Minutes** 

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

4-14-1966

April 14, 1966

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

## **Recommended Citation**

University of North Dakota. "April 14, 1966" (1966). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 45. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/45

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

## MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING

RECEIVED

April 14, 1966

APR 21 1966

(NOT TO BE MADE AVAILABLE TO NON-FACULTY MEMBERS UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA

GRAND FORKS, N. DAK.

1.

A meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 14, 1966, in Room 415 of Twamley Hall. Mr. Penn presided.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Starcher, George W. Anderson, Donald G. Bjork, Alton J. Caldwell, Robert A. Clifford, Thomas J. Curry, Mabel Cushman, Martelle L. Dixon, John D. Hamerlik, Gerald Hankerson, Kenneth L. Herndon, James F. Heyse, Margaret F. Knutson, Marian W. Koth, Arthur W. Larson, Milton B. McKenzie, Ruby M. Morgan, William I. Nelson, Edward O. Pearce, Donald J.

Penn, John S. Reid, John R. Reiten, Palmer J. Robertson, Donald J. Rognlie, Philip A. Thomforde, Clifford J. Thorson, Playford V. Walden, Jerrold Wheeler, George C. Witmer, Robert B.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Barnes, Ronald E. Boehle, William R. Brumleve, Stanley J. Cornatzer, W. E. Gustafson, Ben G. Hamre, Christopher J.

Harwood, Theodore H. Koenker, William E. Kolstoe, Ralph H. Laird, Wilson M. Marti, Leonard R. Marwin, Richard M. Olmstead, Edwin G.

Oslund, Valborg Peterson, Russell A. Polovitz, Michael F. Robinson, Elwyn B. Rowe, John L. White, James P.

3.

There being no corrections, the minutes of the March meeting were ordered approved.

4.

Mr. Pearce introduced the following motion to be placed before the Senate at the next regular meeting:

That section 3 under "Meetings" of the Bylaws of the University Senate be amended to read: "Meetings of the University Senate shall be open to the public, but the Senate reserves the right to go into Executive Session when it deems it necessary. The Senate may also at any meeting invite others to appear before it for special purposes."

The motion was opened to discussion. There being no discussion, the Chair ruled the motion be carried over to the next meeting for discussion and action.

Mr. Walden moved that beginning with the 1967-68 school year the Law School award the J.D. degree as the first degree in Law for all graduates. Miss Heyse seconded the motion. Considerable discussion followed. The motion was voted upon and carried. (This will be referred to the State Board of Higher Education.)

6.

Mr. Walden moved that beginning with the 1967-68 school year the School of Law be authorized to offer a program leading to the LL.M. degree in Agricultural Studies. The motion was seconded. Mr. Larson moved to amend the motion by striking the words Agricultural Studies, and Mr. Walden indicated his acceptance of the amendment. There being no objection, the amendment was ordered approved by unanimous consent. Mr. Herndon moved that the motion be referred to the Graduate Committee for their consideration and report to the Senate. The motion to refer was seconded, voted upon and carried.

7.

The meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Ruby M. McKenzie Registrar