

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

University Senate Meeting Minutes

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

2-3-1966

February 3, 1966

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

Recommended Citation

University of North Dakota. "February 3, 1966" (1966). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 47. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/47

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING

February 3, 1966

(NOT TO BE MADE AVAILABLE TO NON-FACULTY MEMBERS)

1.

A meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, February 3, 1966, in room 415 of Twamley Hall. Mr. Penn presided.

2

The following members of the Senate were present:

Starcher, George W.
Anderson, Donald G.
Barnes, Ronald E.
Bjork, Alton J.
Boehle, William R.
Brumleve, Stanley J.
Caldwell, Robert A.
Curry, Mabel
Cushman, Martelle L.
Dixon, John D.
Gustafson, Ben G.

Hamre, Christopher J.
Hankerson, Kenneth L.
Herndon, James F.
Heyse, Margaret F.
Kolstoe, Ralph H.
Laird, Wilson M.
Larson, Milton B.
McKenzie, Ruby M.
Morgan, William I.
Nelson, Edward O.
Olmstead, Edwin G.
Oslund, Valborg

Penn, John S.
Reid, John R.
Reiten, Palmer J.
Robinson, Elwyn B.
Rognlie, Philip A.
Rowe, John L.
Thomforde, Clifford J.
Thorson, Playford V.
Walden, Jerrold
Wheeler, George C.
Witmer, Robert B.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Clifford, Thomas J. Cornatzer, W. E. Hamerlik, Gerald Harwood, Theodore H. Knutson, Marian W. Koenker, William E. Koth, Arthur W. Marti, Leonard R. Marwin, Richard M. Pearce, Donald J.
Peterson, Russell A.
Polovitz, Michael F.
Robertson, Donald J.
White, James P.

3.

There being no corrections, the minutes of the January meeting, as submitted to members by faculty mail, were ordered approved.

4.

Mr. Caldwell presented a recommendation from the Academic Policies Committee that the Senate establish an ad hoc committee of five members, to be nominated by the Senate's Committee on Committees and elected by the Senate, to determine the conditions under which religion courses continue to be given credit and the conditions under which the Department of Religion is organized. Mr. Wheeler seconded the motion and discussion followed. Mr. Caldwell moved to amend the motion by substituting the word "study" for "determine." There being no objection, the amendment was adopted by unanimous consent. Mr. Cushman moved to vote immediately on the pending motion. This motion was seconded, voted upon and carried. The main motion, as amended, was then voted upon and carried.

Mr. Dixon moved that the Faculty Senate elect eight faculty members to a screening committee which will select six to nine nominees for the Alumni Distinguished Teacher Awards. The motion was seconded, voted upon and carried. The members nominated were ee Mr. Donald E. Severson, Mr. Palmer Reiten, Dean Walden, Dean Heyse, Mr. Woodrow McBride Mr. John J. Taylor, Mr. John Peterson, Miss Clara Pederson, Mr. Leland Creer, and Dean Clifford. Mr. Laird moved that nominations close. The motion was seconded, voted on and carried. A ballot was taken and Mr. Severson, Mr. Reiten, Dean Walden, Dean Heyse, Mr. McBride, Mr. Taylor, Mr. Peterson, and Dean Clifford were declared elected as members of the screening committee for Alumni Distinguished Teacher Awards.

6.

Mr. Wheeler moved that the Graduate Committee adopt the following amendment to Faculty Senate legislation on membership of the Graduate Committee:

The Graduate Committee whall consist of the Dean of the Graduate School (ex-officio), one member elected by the graduate faculty of each college or school which gives courses carrying graduate credit and three members elected by the Graduate Faculty from its own membership.

The procedure for electing members at large shall be as follows:

- (a) During the second week of October of each year the Dean shall distribute to members of the Graduate Faculty a list of those eligible for election to the Graduate Committee and state the number to be elected at large.
- (b) Each member of the Graduate Faculty may indicate his choice for nomination by choosing from the list exactly as many persons (neither more nor less) as are to be elected; any nominating list choosing fewer or more than the number to be elected at large shall be void.
- (c) Those equal in number to twice the number to be elected who have received the most nominating votes shall be declared nominees.
- (d) A list of these nominees shall be printed as the ballot and distributed to all members of the graduate faculty; each member shall vote for exactly as many nominees (neither more nor less) as are to be elected; any ballot choosing fewer or more than the number to be elected at large shall be void.
- (e) The Dean shall prescribe the time and method for returning nominating lists and marked ballots and shall count and tabulate the same, providing that all nominating and balloting shall be secret and that these election procedures shall be completed by the end of the third week in October.

As soon as the election of members at large is completed the Dean of the Graduate School will give the results to the deans of the schools and colleges which give courses carrying graduate credit. Each of these deans shall then provide for the election of the member from his school or college by the same procedure as prescribed above for members at large. The election of these members shall be completed by the end of the first week in November.

Members of the Graduate Committee shall serve for three years and shall root be eligible for re-election for one year. November 15 of each year shall be the date for the beginning and expiration of terms of membership on the Graduate Committee.

7.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.