

## University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

**University Senate Meeting Minutes** 

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

4-1-1965

April 1, 1965

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

## **Recommended Citation**

University of North Dakota. "April 1, 1965" (1965). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 36. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/36

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

## MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING

April 1, 1965

(NOT TO BE MADE AVAILABLE TO NON-FACULTY MEMBERS)

1.

A meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 1, 1965, in the Lecture Bowl of the University Center. Mr. Olmstead presided.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Bjork, Alton J.
Beck, Robert E.
Bullard, Charles W.
Burrage, Ruth
Caldwell, Robert A.
Cash, William L., Jr.
Cooley, Albert M.
Cornatzer, W. E.
Curry, Mabel
Cushman, M. L.
Dixon, John D.
Featheringham, Audrey

Ford, Donald
Gillmor, Don
Hamerlik, Gerald
Harwood, Theodore H.
Henderson, J. Donald
Heyse, Margaret
Holland, F. D., Jr.
Jackson, Ronald E.
Larson, Milton B.
Marwin, Richard M.
McKenzie, Ruby M.
Morgan, William

Olmstead, Edwin G.
Polovitz, Michael
Robertson, Donald J.
Rognlie, Philip A.
St. Clair, F. Y.
Smith, Glenn
Thomforde, Clifford J.
Tomasek, Henry J.
Thorson, Playford
Walden, Jerrold
Wills, Bernt L.

The following members of the Senate were absent:

Starcher, George W. Boehle, William R. Clifford, Thomas J. Hamre, Christopher J.

Hankerson, Kenneth L. Koenker, William E. Laird, Wilson M. Marti, L. R. MacKichan, Ruth
Nelson, Edward O.
Pearce, Donald J.
Peterson, Russell A.
Rowe, John L.

3.

There being no corrections, the minutes of the March meeting, as submitted to members by faculty mail, were ordered approved.

4.

Mr. Tomasek moved that the Senate Committee on Committees be empowered to appoint five faculty members and two administrators who, together with representatives of the student body, will form a committee to study and make recommendations regarding academic policy to the University Senate. The motion was seconded. After some discussion the motion was voted upon and carried.

5.

Mr. Robertson moved that the passing grade in the two courses in written composition (now known as "Freshman English" - English 101 and 102), required for graduation from the University, be changed to "D" and that the change go into effect immediately and be retroactive. The motion was seconded, voted upon, and carried.

Mr. Thorson moved that the Senate direct the Chairman to appoint four members of the faculty to serve on a student policy committee. The motion was seconded.

Mr. Henderson moved that the motion made by Mr. Thorson be referred to the Committee on Committees for their study and recommendation. The motion was seconded. After some discussion the motion was voted upon and lost.

Mr. Jackson moved to amend Mr. Thorson's motion to read that the Committee on Committees be authorized to appoint four members of the faculty to serve on a student policy committee. The motion to amend was seconded, voted upon, and carried.

Mr. St. Clair moved that the amended motion be referred to the Committee on Committees for study and recommendation. The motion was seconded, voted upon, and lost.

The original motion, as amended, which reads that the Senate direct the Committee on Committees to appoint four members of the faculty to serve on a student policy committee, was then voted upon and carried.

7.

Mr. Bullard moved that the Senate recommend to the President that the following men receive honorary degrees: Thomas C. Barger, Edward J. Devitt, Bertin C. Gamble, and Orin Alva Stevens. The motion was seconded, voted upon, and carried.

8.

The meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.

R. M. McKenzie Secretary