

## University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

**University Senate Meeting Minutes** 

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

10-1-1964

October 1, 1964

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

## **Recommended Citation**

University of North Dakota. "October 1, 1964" (1964). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 25. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/25

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

## MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING

October 1, 1964

(NOT TO BE MADE AVAILABLE TO NON-FACULTY MEMBERS)

OCT 7 - 1964 SCHOOL of MINES

1.

A meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, October 1, 1964, in Room 415 of Twamley Hall with Mr. Penn presiding.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Starcher, George W. Bjork, Alton J. Boehle, William R. Bullard, Charles W. Caldwell, Robert A. Clifford, Thomas J. Cooley, Albert M. Curry, Myron M. Dixon, John D. Ford, Donald H. Hamerlik, Gerald

Henderson, J. Donald Heyse, Margaret Holland, F. D., Jr. Kannowski, Paul B. Koenker, William E. Kolstoe, Ralph H. Koth, Arthur W. MacKichan, Ruth Marwin, Richard M. McKenzie, Ruby M. Pedersen, Ilaine Penn, John S.
Robinson, Elwyn B.
St. Clair, F. Y.
Severson, Roland G.
Thomforde, Clifford J.
Tomasek, Henry J.
Walden, Jerrold
Wheeler, George C.
Wills, Bernt L.
Rognlie, Philip A.

The following members were absent:

Cash, William L., Jr. Cushman, M. L. Facey, Vera Gillmor, Don

Hamre, Christopher J. Harwood, Theodore H. Jackson, Ronald E. Laird, Wilson M. Pearce, Donald J. Reiten, Palmer J. Robertson, Donald J.

3.

There being no corrections, the minutes of the May meeting as submitted to members by faculty mail were ordered approved.

4.

Mr. Caldwell moved that the registration in any course of a student who is absent from the first two meetings of the class after he has registered shall be automatically cancelled. The motion was seconded.

Mr. Kolstoe moved that this question, along with related questions, be referred to a registration committee and that committee should be asked to report back to the Senate. The motion was seconded.

Mr. Tomasek moved that the rule restricting discussion on the motion to refer to committee be suspended. The motion was seconded and passed by more than a two-thirds majority. Discussion on the motion to refer to committee then included discussion on the main motion. The motion to refer to committee was voted upon and carried.

Mr. Tomasek moved that the chair be authorized to appoint a committee on registration. The motion was seconded, voted upon and carried.

Mr. Koenker presented for discussion the question of method of selection of a Tenure Committee. After discussion, Mr. Koenker moved that a committee of three be designated to draft a recommended procedure for the election of a Tenure Committee. The motion was seconded. Mr. Koenker accepted an amendment that this committee consist of the remaining members of the present Tenure Committee - Mr. Clifford, Mr. Henderson and Mr. Wheeler. There being no objection the Chair ruled the motion, amended by unanimous consent. The motion, as amended, was voted upon and carried.

6.

The meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

R. M. McKenzie Secretary