

University of North Dakota UND Scholarly Commons

University Senate Meeting Minutes

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

1-4-1962

January 4, 1962

University of North Dakota

How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes

Recommended Citation

University of North Dakota. "January 4, 1962" (1962). *University Senate Meeting Minutes*. 1. https://commons.und.edu/und-senate-minutes/1

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in University Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING

January 4, 1962

(Not for Publication)

1.

A meeting of the University Senate was held at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, January 4, 1962.

2.

The following members of the Senate were present:

Brumleve, Stanley
Bullard, Charles W.
Campbell, Robert B.
Clifford, Thomas J.
Curry, Myron M.
Cushman, Martelle L.
Gillmor, Donald M.
Hamre, Christopher J.
Henderson, J. Donald
Jorgensen, Roy H.

Kannowski, Paul B.
Koenker, William E.
Kolstoe, Ralph H.
Koth, Arthur
Kulas, Ludwik
Lawson, Edward C.
Lewis, Charles L.
McKenzie, Ruby M.
Myers, Roger A.
Pearce, Donald J.

Penn, John S.
Reiben, Palmer J.
Riepe, Dale
Robertson, D. J.
Robinson, Elwyn
Russell, LaVonne
St. Clair, Foster
Severson, Roland G.
Tomasek, Henry J.
Wheeler, George C.
White, James P.

The following members were absent:

President Starcher Harwood, Theodore H. Hatfield, Charles Heyse, Margaret F. Lium, E. L. MacKichan, Ruth J. Reeves, Mary E. Rowe, John L. Thormodsgard, O. H. Wills, Bernt L. Witmer, R. B.

3.

Mr. Penn moved that the chair appoint a Minutes Committee of three to examine the record of the Secretary and to report its findings and recommendations to the Senate. The motion carried.

4.

Mr. Wheeler moved that the following bylaw of the University Senate be approved.

"Amendments to the Senate bylaws may be submitted in the agenda
at any regular meeting but shall not be acted upon until the
next regular meeting."

The motion carried.

Mr. Wheeler moved that each of the following Standing Rules of the University Senate be approved.

"The Senate shall meet at 4:05 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month for October to June inclusive.

"The regular place of meeting shall be the Memorial Room in the Student Union.

"No member shall speak more than two consecutive minutes, except by a majority vote of the Senate."

The Senate voted individually on each of the three rules and approved all three.

The Senate voted to hold the February meeting on the second Thursday in February (February 8, 1962).

6.

Mr. Wheeler move that an Executive Committee of the Senate be established. The motion was seconded and carried.

It was moved that the proposal on the Executive Committee be referred to the Bylaws Committee. The motion carried.

The specify duties a refer to Seach for afformat.

Mr. Kolstoe, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Jorgensen, Mr. Curry, and Mr. Henderson were nominated as members of the Committee on Committees. Mr. Lawson withdrew his name.

Mr. Penn moved the election of the following members to the Committee on Committees: Mr. Kolstoe, Mr. Jorgensen, Mr. Curry, and Mr. Henderson. The motion carried.

8.

The following were nominated as members of the Administrative Procedures Committee: Mr. Pearce, Mr. Bullard, Mr. Wheeler, and Mr. Severson. Mr. Pearce, Mr. Bullard, and Mr. Severson were elected.

9.

Mr. Tomasek moved that the responsibilities of the old Administrative Committee be transferred to the Administrative Procedures Committee until changed by the Committee on Committees. There was an amendment to authorize the present Administrative Committee to consider and take action on the report and recommendations of the Calendar Committee. The motion, as amended, was carried.

10. The amendment was carried.

The meeting adjourned at 5:30.

R. M. McKenzie Secretary